Distinguished Alumni Award

Every year, Duke TIP honors alumni who have contributed greatly to their professional fields and society. These honorees receive TIP’s Distinguished Alumni Award and are recognized at the Grand Recognition Ceremony held each year at Duke University. They also serve as inspirational role models for TIP’s current talent search and educational programs participants. The names of our Distinguished Alumni Award winners are highlighted below, but you can review their careers and thoughts on TIP here.

2018 Honorees

Derek Wallbank

Derek Wallbank

Team Leader, First Word DC, Bloomberg News

2017 Honorees

Ian Clark

Ian Clark
Engineer, EDL Systems and Advanced Technologies Group at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Kiran Musunuru

Kiran Musunuru
Associate Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Genetics, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.

Alison Stuebe

Alison Stuebe
Associate Professor Maternal-Fetal Medicine, University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Distinguished Scholar of Infant and Young Child Feeding, Gillings School of Global Public Health

2016 Honorees


David Shaywitz
Chief Medical Officer, DNAnexus

DianeTang_Low Rez

Diane Tang
Google Fellow, Google

AndrewSamwick_Low Rez

Andrew Samwick
Professor of Economics, Director of the Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences, Dartmouth College

2015 Honorees

The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research. Work done at University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

Alice Chen-Plotkin
Neuroscientist and Neurologist, University of Pennsylvania

rwanda web

Geoff Davis
Data Scientist, Google [x]

Hatchett web

Richard J. Hatchett
Chief Medical Officer and Deputy Director of the US Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority

2014 Honorees

anne-harkavy web

Anne Harkavy
Deputy General Counsel, Litigation and Enforcement, US Department of Energy

 Scott Cook

 Dr. Rachel Newcomb
Professor of Anthropology, Rollins College

Alex Rampell web

Alex Rampell
Founder & CEO, TrialPay; Investor

2013 Honorees

Kimberly Garbett

Kimberly Garbett
International Programs Manager, Partnership for Peace Consortium, George C. Marshall Center

John Green_credit Ton Koene web

John Green
Author, young adult fiction; Vlogger

D Smoot web

David M. Smoot, IV

Chief Executive Officer, Dubai International Capital LLC

2012 Honorees


Douglas Arner
Professor of Law; Head, Department of Law; University of Hong Kong


Stewart Coulter
Engineering Manager at DEKA Research & Development


Anu Kirk
Director and General Manager of Virtual Reality Platforms, Sony Computer Entertainment America


David Kirsch
Professor of Radiation Oncology, Pharmacology, and Cancer Biology, Duke University Medical Center

2011 Honorees


Bethany Rubin Henderson
Executive Director, DC SCORES


Franklin J. Leonard
Founder & CEO, The Black List; Advisor to BoomGenStudios & Plympton

 Sherry Raugh

Sherry Ehrlich Rauh
Children’s author (as Sherry North) and Doctor of Audiology


Amy J. Wagers
Professor of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology at Harvard University and Harvard Medical School

2010 Honorees

Amy Abernethy

Amy Pickar Abernethy
Chief Medical Officer & SVP Oncology, Flatiron Health


Lyrissa Barnett Lidsky
Assoc. Dean for International Programs at University of Florida Levin College of Law


Peter Singer
Strategist and Senior Fellow at The New America Foundation


Kentaro Toyama
W.K. Kellogg Associate Professor at University of Michigan's School of Information; Fellow, Dalai Lama Center for Ethics and Transformative Values at MIT

2009 Honorees


Trey Ideker
Chief of Genetics and Professor of Medicine and Bioengineering at University of California, San Diego

Ananth Natarajan

Ananth Natarajan
Founder at Infinite Biomedical Technologies

Willis_Jane_CMYK web

Jane E. Willis
Partner and Co-head of the Business & Securities Litigation Practice at Ropes & Gray

2008 Honorees


Stewart B. Davis
CEO and President, Bioceptive

Gorden web

Anne E. Vivian Gorden
Associate Professor of Organic Chemistry at Auburn University

Ronald Temple web

Ronald S. Temple
Portfolio Manager/Analyst and Director of US Research at Lazard Asset Management

Karen Russell, 2013 MacArthur Fellow

Karen Russell
Fiction writer

DavidWilson web

David V. Wilson, II
Shareholder, LeClairRyan

2007 Honorees

Jocelyn Benson web

Jocelyn Benson
Dean of Wayne State University Law School

Julie Martin Trenor web

Julie Martin Trenor
Assistant Professor, Dept of Engineering and Science Education, Clemson University

Ben Greenman web

Ben Greenman
Contributing Editor, The New Yorker

2006 Honorees

Dean Karlan web

Dean Karlan
Professor of Economics, Yale University

Karl Douglass web

Karl Douglass
Political Director at Jason Carter For Governor


Jennifer Wiley
Professor of Psychology, University of Illinois at Chicago

2005 Honorees


Stacy Klein-Gardner
Director, Center for STEM Education for Girls at Harpeth Hall School

Marc Starnes
Statistician, US Department of Transportation


Rachael Goodhue
Professor, Agricultural and Resource Economics, University of California, Davis


Kevin Young
Atticus Haygood Professor of English and Creative Writing, Emory University